Retina Implant AG - Healthcare Compliance Principles

1. INTRODUCTION

Retina Implant AG is a leading company in the treatment of retinitis pigmentosa ("RP"). It deals with a broad range of medical facilities, registered physicians, their staff and other medical and healthcare professionals (henceforth jointly referred to as the "Healthcare Profession"). Ethical conduct and strict compliance with relevant legislation are fundamental principles governing the work of Retina Implant AG with the Healthcare Profession. The following information is intended to provide employees of Retina Implant AG and its co-operation partners with a summary of the key compliance principles. More detailed requirements can be found in the Retina Implant AG Healthcare Compliance Guideline ("Healthcare Compliance Guideline").

 

2. KEY PRINCIPLES UNDERLYING THE WORK WITH THE HEALTHCARE PROFESSION

With a view to avoiding potential legal infringements, the following four principles in particular should be complied with in Retina Implant AG’s dealings with the Healthcare Profession:

  • principle of separating benefits and sales transactions (principle of separation)
  • principle of transparency/approval
  • principle of proportionality between service and consideration (principle of equivalence)
  • principle of documentation.

1.1. Principle of separation

The principle of separation requires a clear separation between benefits and sales transactions, i.e. benefits to the Healthcare Profession must not be dependent on sales. Furthermore, benefits must not be misused to improperly influence the Healthcare Profession’s conduct, prescription and purchase decisions or its recommendations/referrals in favour of Retina Implant AG’s products and/or services.

1.2. Principle of transparency/approval

The principle of transparency/approval requires unilateral benefits and relationships involving the exchange of services with healthcare professionals to be disclosed to the respective employer (principle of transparency) and approved in writing by this employer (principle of approval).

1.3. Principle of equivalence

According to the principle of equivalence, in the case of relationships involving the exchange of services, the consideration (on the part of Retina Implant AG) must be proportional to the service (on the part of the Healthcare Profession) at fair market value. This is based in particular on the scope of the service, the time spent and the qualifications the contractual partner requires to provide the service.

1.4. Principle of documentation

Agreements with healthcare professionals must always be set down in writing. The proper provision of the agreed service is to be documented by means of appropriate documents (e.g. invoices, schedules of services provided, written reports, manuscripts, etc.). All payments must be made by transfer to the stipulated bank account of the contractual partner. All documentation must be kept for at least ten years.

3. TYPES OF CO-OPERATION WITH HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONALS

1.1. Typical relationships involving the exchange of services

1.1.1. Research agreements and research funding

Research must not be misused for sales and marketing purposes. The relevant project must therefore endeavour to achieve results that are of legitimate medical and scientific interest. This applies regardless of whether Retina Implant AG initiated the research project or is supporting a third-party project.

1.1.2. Sponsorship agreements

Financial support of external events organised by the Healthcare Profession is permitted as long as Retina Implant AG is offered an image and/or sales promotion opportunity in return. Such presentation possibilities with an advertising impact may include an exhibition stand, the distribution of information brochures or the company’s name and logo appearing as a sponsor on the invitation.

1.1.3. Consulting and other service agreements

A consulting agreement or other service agreements will only be considered if an actual need exists for the specific consultancy/service. The healthcare professional must also have the relevant specialist skills. The agreed remuneration must be appropriate for the services to be provided and payment must only be made following proper provision of the service and submission of an invoice. Necessary travel and accommodation expenses can be paid in addition to a fee under consulting and service agreements.

1.2. Unilateral service relationships/benefits

Unilateral services/benefits must not be misused to influence purchase or prescription decisions. Unilateral service relationships normally take the form of

  • providing (samples of) products
  • issuing free samples
  • supporting participation in internal and external training events
  • paying for business meals of healthcare professionals
  • making donations to medical facilities.

The above-mentioned (unilateral) services are only permitted under very strict legal conditions, which are defined in more detail in the Healthcare Compliance Guideline.

4. COMPLIANCE WITH THESE PRINCIPLES / MONITORING / TRAINING

Compliance with the above-mentioned principles and the Healthcare Compliance Guideline is essential for Retina Implant AG in dealings with the Healthcare Profession. Retina Implant AG employees are obliged to adhere to these compliance principles in their day-to-day work and in dealings with doctors, medical facilities and their staff. Compliance with the guideline is an official obligation. Employees are also obliged to promptly notify their head of department or Retina Implant AG’s Executive Board if they become aware of other employees breaching these guidelines. Knowledge of and compliance with these principles will be ensured by means of regular in-house training.

Retina Implant AG - Healthcare Compliance Richtlinie

1. Einleitung

Retina Implant AG ist ein führendes Unternehmen auf dem Gebiet der Behandlung der Retinitis pigmentosa ("RP"). Das Unternehmen steht hierbei in vielfältigen Beziehungen zu medizinischen Einrichtungen, niedergelassenen Ärzten, deren Mitarbeitern und allen weiteren Angehörigen der Heilberufe und Heilhilfsberufe (nachfolgend zusammen als "Fachkreise"). Ein tragender Grundsatz von Retina Implant AG bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Fachkreisen ist sowohl ethisch einwandfreies Verhalten als auch die strikte Beachtung des geltenden Rechts. Die nachfolgenden Ausführungen soll den Angehörigen der Retina Implant AG sowie ihren Kooperationspartner als eine Zusammenfassung der maßgeblichen Compliance-Grundsätze dienen; weitergehende Bestimmungen können der Retina Implant AG Healthcare Compliance Richtlinie entnommen werden ("Healthcare Compliance Richtlinie").

2. Die wesentlichen Grundsätze bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Fachkreisen

Bei der Zusammenarbeit der Retina Implant AG mit Fachkreisen sind insbesondere die vier folgenden Grundsätze zu beachten, um mögliche Rechtsverstöße zu vermeiden. Es handelt sich dabei um

• den Grundsatz der Trennung von Zuwendungen und Umsatzgeschäften (Trennungsprinzip),
• den Transparenz-/Genehmigungsgrundsatz,
• den Grundsatz der Angemessenheit von Leistung und Gegenleistung (Äquivalenzgrundsatz), und
• den Dokumentationsgrundsatz.

2.1 Trennungsprinzip

Das Trennungsprinzip erfordert eine klare Trennung zwischen Zuwendungen und Umsatzgeschäften, d.h. Zuwendungen an Fachkreise dürfen nicht in Abhängigkeit von Umsatzgeschäften erfolgen. Sie dürfen auch nicht missbraucht werden, um Therapie-, Verordnungs- und Beschaffungsentscheidungen sowie Empfehlungen und Zuweisungen von Fachkreisen in unzulässiger Weise zugunsten von Produkten und/oder Dienstleistungen der Retina Implant AG zu beeinflussen.

2.2 Transparenz-/Genehmigungsprinzip

Der Transparenz-/Genehmigungsgrundsatz schreibt vor, dass einseitige Zuwendungen und Leistungs-austauschbeziehungen mit Angehörigen der Fachkreise gegenüber dem jeweiligen Dienstherren bzw. Arbeitgeber offen gelegt (Transparenzgrundsatz) und von diesem schriftlich genehmigt (Genehmigungs-grundsatz) werden muss.

2.3 Äquivalenzprinzip

Dem Äquivalenzprinzip zufolge müssen bei Leistungsaustauschbeziehungen Leistung (von Retina Implant AG) und Gegenleistung (der Fachkreise) in einem angemessenen Verhältnis zueinander stehen (Marktüblichkeit/Fair Market Value). Dieses richtet sich insbesondere nach dem Leistungsumfang, dem Zeitaufwand sowie der für die Erbringung der Leistung notwendigen Qualifikation des Vertragspartners.

2.4 Dokumentationsprinzip

Vereinbarungen mit Fachkreisangehörigen sind immer schriftlich festzulegen. Die ordnungsgemäße Er-bringung der vereinbarten Leistung ist durch geeignete Unterlagen (bspw. Rechnungen, Aufstellungen der erbrachten Leistungen, schriftliche Berichte, Manuskripte etc.) zu dokumentieren. Zahlungen erfolgen ausschließlich per Überweisung auf das vertraglich festgelegte Bankkonto des Vertragspartners. Sämtliche Unterlagen müssen mindestens zehn Jahren aufbewahrt werden.

3. Arten der Zusammenarbeit mit Angehörigen der Fachkreise

3.1  Typische Leistungsaustauschbeziehungen

3.1.1 Forschungsverträge und Forschungsförderung

Forschung darf nicht zu Marketing- und Vertriebszwecken missbraucht werden. Das jeweilige Projekt muss daher Ergebnisse anstreben, an denen ein legitimes medizinisches und wissenschaftliches Interesse besteht. Dies gilt unabhängig davon, ob Retina Implant AG ein eigens initiiertes Forschungsprojekt durchführt oder ein fremdes Forschungsprojekt unterstützt.

3.1.2 Sponsoringverträge

Die finanzielle Unterstützung von externen Veranstaltungen von Fachkreisen ist zulässig, sofern Retina Implant AG als Gegenleistung die Möglichkeit von image- und/oder absatzfördernder Werbeleistung erhält. Solche werbewirksame Präsentationsmöglichkeiten sind z.B. ein Ausstellungsstand, Verteilung von Informationsbroschüren oder mit Namen und Logo auf der Einladung als Sponsor zu erscheinen.

3.1.3 Berater- und sonstige Dienstleistungsverträge

Der Abschluss eines Beratervertrages oder sonstiger Dienstleistungsverträge kommt nur dann in Betracht, wenn ein tatsächlicher Bedarf für die konkrete Beratungs- bzw. Dienstleistung besteht. Zudem muss der Angehörige der Fachkreise die entsprechende Fachkompetenz aufweisen. Die vereinbarte Vergütung muss im Hinblick auf die zu erbringenden Leistungen angemessen sein und Zahlung soll erst nach ordnungsgemäßer Leistungserbringung und Rechnungstellung erfolgen. Im Rahmen von Berater- und Dienstleistungsverträgen können neben einem Honorar in angemessenem Umfang notwendige Reise- und Übernachtungskosten übernommen werden.

3.2 Einseitige Leistungsbeziehungen bzw. Zuwendungen

Einseitige Leistungen bzw. Zuwendungen dürfen nicht dazu missbraucht werden, Einfluss auf Beschaf-fungs- oder Verordnungsentscheidungen zu nehmen. Üblicherweise erfolgen einseitige Leistungsbezie-hungen durch

• Beistellung bzw. Probestellung von Produkten,
• unentgeltliche Abgabe von Mustern,
• Unterstützung der Teilnahme an internen und externen Fort-/Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen,
• Bewirtung von Angehörigen der Fachkreise im Rahmen von Arbeitsessen, sowie
• Spenden an medizinische Einrichtungen.

Die vorgenannten (einseitigen) Leistungen sind nur unter sehr engen rechtlichen Maßgaben zulässig, welche in der Healthcare Compliance Richtlinie näher festgelegt sind.

4. Einhaltung der Grundsätze/Überwachung/Training

Die Einhaltung der vorgenannten Grundsätze sowie der Healthcare Comliance Richtlinie ist für die Retina Implant AG bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Fachkreisen unabdingbar. Mitarbeiter der Retina Implant AG sind verpflichtet, diese Compliance-Grundsätze bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit und bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Ärzten, medizinischen Einrichtungen und deren Arbeitnehmern, zu berücksichtigen. Die Beachtung der Richtlinie ist eine dienstliche Obliegenheit. Mitarbeiter sind verpflichtet, den Leiter seiner Fachabteilung oder den Vorstand der Retina Implant AG über Verstöße anderer Mitarbeiter gegen diese Richtlinien, die ihm bekannt werden, unverzüglich zu informieren. Die Kenntnis und die entsprechende Einhaltung dieser Grundsätze werden durch regelmäßige interne Schulung sichergestellt.